Springfield All-City Rotary meeting

Our annual meeting with Rotarians and Rotaractors from across Springfield is Wednesday, May 11, at Bass Pro's White River Conference Center, 600 W. Sunshine St.  Doors open for buffet lunch at 11:30; meeting starts at noon.

Our speaker is Rotarian Julie Muligan from Canada.  She was taken hostage at gun point and held in captivity for two weeks while on a Rotary Exchange visit in northern Nigeria in 2009.  Mulligan will share her experience and how she continues to believe Rotary International is the most significant and influential service organization in the world.

Reception for Paul Harris Fellows

Our annual reward for club members and spouses who are Paul Harris Fellows is Thursday, May 12, from 6 - 9 at the home of Dan and Melissa Scott, a loft above the Aviary Cafe in the building on the southeast corner of Jefferson Avenue at Walnut Street.

You may park at Downtown United Methodist Church (former St. Paul United Methodist) across Walnut from the reception.  Valet parking will be available on the curb in front of the building for anyone who would like it or need it.)

The loft has both indoor and rooftop areas for congregating.

This reception is for those who have contributed at least $1,000, or have contributions and credits totaling at least $1,000, to the Rotary Foundation.  Members who reached this total in a past year must contribute at least $100 this Rotary year to continue to be eligible for the reception.

Contact Dave Compere, our club's Rotary Foundation Committee chair, if you have questions.  RSVP at this link: http://bit.ly/1SIWVth or by email to info@springfieldsoutheastrotary.org

Welcome new member Michael Pessina

Welcome new member Michael Pessina

Bob Hammerschmidt introduced Michael on March 17. His co-sponsor is Kyle McClure.

Michael has been a Water Treatment and Supply engineer with City Utilities of Springfield since March 2015. He manages water supply and treatment capital improvement projects.

Michael previously was a senior project manager and office manager for HDR Engineering of Springfield; a project manager for Olsson Associates of Springfield; a department administrator and project manager for Scott Consulting Engineers of Springfield; and a design engineer for Archer Engineers of Springfield.

Michael is a registered professional engineer with licenses in Missouri, Oklahoma, and Arkansas. He earned a Master of Science degree in engineering management from the University of Kansas in 2008, and a Bachelor of Science degree in civil engineering from Missouri University of Science and Technology in Rolla in May 1998.

Michael was named Young Engineer of the Year in 2009 by the Missouri Society of Professional Engineers. He is a past president of the Ozark chapter of that organization and served as a state director.
Michael and his wife, Myra, have two children. He's been a volunteer with a Cub Scout pack and Boy Scout troop; is a member of CU Toastmasters; served on the Springfield Wastewater Improvements Task Force in 2010-'11; and has made mission trips to Senegal in 2015 and Uganda in 2009 and 2011 for South Haven Baptist Church, where he's also served on the Personnel Committee, coached Upward youth basketball, and taught Sunday school classes.

Welcome new member Laurie Edmondson

Welcome new member Laurie Edmondson

Kim Nichols introduced her on Feb. 25. Her co-sponsor is Rick Van Pelt.

Laurie has been a resident of Springfield since she was 2 years old. She graduated from Parkview High School and went on to receive her undergraduate and masters degrees from Missouri State University and her doctorate from St. Louis University.

Laurie has been an educator and advocate for children for many years. She is the dean of the School of Education and Child Development at Drury University. She serves on many local and state committees, including the Mayor's Commission for Children, the Writers Hall of Fame, and the Missouri Association for Colleges of Teacher Education.

Laurie's husband, Ben, is an internal appraiser for Central Bank of the Ozarks. They have two daughters: Emily is a freshman at Glendale High School and Amy is a sixth grader at Pershing Middle School.

Rotary's six areas of focus
-- Promoting peace
-- Provide clean water
-- Saving mothers and children
-- Supporting education
-- Growing local economies

Welcome new member Brandon Welch

Welcome new member Brandon Welch

Brian McDonough introduced Brandon on Feb. 11.  His co-sponsor is Noah Alldredge.

Brandon is a native of Rogersville who is, transplanted to Ozark where he and his wife, Valerie, live. Valerie is a fourth grade teacher at Mark Twain Elementary School, and they have two children; Jude, 2, and Jovi, 10 months. They're expecting their third child in June.

Brandon worked in his family's car business through high school and college, where he developed an interest in small business. He made the leap to advertising sales in 2010 and worked with many businesses in his tenure at KY3 in digital and broadcast sales.

In 2013 he felt the calling to start his own business, Frank & Maven Partners in Communication. He and his team serve their clients with web development, search engine marketing television, radio and print advertising, video production, and achieving better communication company-wide. They have eight team members and serve 52 accounts in Springfield and across the United States.

Brandon's hobbies include helicopter aviation, outdoor cooking, and playing music with his band, Glen McKenzie and The Roadkings.

He has served on the board of Ozarks Counseling Center, and is an Elks Lodge member. He and his family are active at The Venues church.

Welcome new member Adam Toth

Welcome new member Adam Toth

Welcome new member Adam Toth. Joe Piatchek introduced him on Feb. 4. Randy Mayes is his co-sponsor.

Adam grew up in Springfield and graduated from Kickapoo High School, where he was salutatorian of his graduating class. At the University of Missouri, he graduated at the top of his class in Electrical Engineering. He later attained his MBA from Missouri State University, again graduating top of his class.

In 2004, Adam and his father, Lou Toth, established Toth and Associates, which has grown to be the largest consulting engineering firm in the Springfield area. It specializes in electrical, structural, and civil engineering, as well as land surveying and GIS with clients across the Midwest - as well as Oregon.

Adam is vice president at Toth and Associates, where he manages the Power Distribution Department as well as internal operations of the firm, including accounting, HR, and marketing.

Adam was a member of the Springfield Rotaract Club for more than five years and served on the Rotaract Board. He is a board member for Big Brothers Big Sisters, and previously served as a Big Brother.
Adam has been married to his wife, Erin, for about nine years. She is a pediatrician with CoxHealth. They have three beautiful children who keep them busy: Sophia, 6; Gianna, 3; and Anthony, 7 months.

Adam is an avid sports fan. In particular, he loves the KC Chiefs, KC Royals, and the University of Missouri. He coaches his daughter’s soccer and basketball teams. He also enjoys golf, but doesn’t get to play since they have three young children.